A Clean Kitchen

November 2, 2010

If there is one thing I hate about cooking, it is the mess left behind. In fact, most of the time when I am “not in the mood to cook” it is because I don’t want to have to deal with the mess. I know some people have a plan in place in which one person (out of the couple) will cook, and the other will clean up. This is a great idea in theory. In my case, not so much. While my husband is an excellent cook and I thoroughly enjoy eating his food, he is the messiest cook I have ever seen. (But I still love you! :) )

I am convinced that people who always have spotless kitchens don’t use them. We are currently in the process of trying to sell our home, so it is extra important to make sure everything stays in tip top shape. When you eat three meals a day in a kitchen, that is a lot of work. It is a never ending cycle of dirty dishes and piles of pots and pans. I would like to raise a challenge to find someone who actually uses his/her kitchen and yet it remains spotless. If you are out there, please contact me so I can take lessons from you. I know, I know… “clean as you cook.” I say, easier said than done. I am trying to learn to be quicker in the kitchen. If I am cleaning everything after I use it, that will double my cooking time. Then, you are always going to have at least 2 pans at the end that need to be cleaned. Are you supposed to clean them before you eat? I don’t know about you, but by the time my food is done cooking, all I want to do is sit down and eat it. Once I’ve eaten it, I just want to sit down and relax, not clean the kitchen that I’ve been cleaning up all day long after every other meal. I’m beginning to think that the architects of ‘ole were smart to have the kitchen a completely separate room from the rest of the house. No one needs to see that mess. When did the kitchen become a gathering spot? Why is an “open floor plan” so desirable? If I were to make a prediction (which is what I am doing right now), I would say that the “open floor plan” days will soon be over and that will be one aspect of a home that will date it, just like pea green appliances and flowered wall paper.

Enough complaining, it’s time to think about what’s for dinner. I’m thinking it is a lamb kind of night…

One Response to “A Clean Kitchen”

  1. mommytester Says:

    I hear you loud and clear. After years of wishing my kitchen was cleaner I realized that it isn’t how clean your kitchen is… it is that your loved ones have warm and full bellies. :) HOWEVER, my mom is one of those people who’s kitchen is SPOTLESS even after she cooks a lovely meal. I think the key is “puttering” .. after dinner, putter around wiping things down here and there. Washing a dish, a pot – enjoying the moment by yourself in the kitchen. Dunno – sometimes it works for me and sometimes I conk out. Love your blog!!!


Leave a Reply

