Strawberry Napoleon

November 19, 2010

As I sit in my kitchen devouring my latest creation down to the very last lick of whipped cream from the bowl it occurs to me that if my husband would have seen me tonight for the first time we would probably not be married today. Bowl licking isn’t the most attractive quality in a girl (or boy for that matter). But honestly, is there anything better than freshly whipped cream? 

As I have mentioned before, we are in the middle of moving. In fact, we leave very early Sunday morning so our refrigerator and pantry are becoming quite sparse. I had three ingredients I had to use up before we go: heavy whipping cream, pastry dough, and strawberries. Luckily, on the box of the (Pepperidge Farm) pastry dough there was a recipe for Strawberry Napoleon.

I didn’t have everything I needed for the recipe so I improvised. It called for vanilla pudding. I used white chocolate because that’s what I had. I also used all my milk earlier today, so I ended up using evaporated milk. I skipped the icing because, like I said, I had no milk. But, it was still turned out very well!

I have a real problem when it comes to sweets. I have no self control. I try to keep it under wraps most of the time, but biting into this was like biting into a chocolate covered strawberry cream puff. All bets were off. Not only did I finish the whole thing, but, like I said earlier, I licked all the bowls clean.

What would I change? I would make individual desserts instead of 2 long desserts (meant to be cut and served, not eaten by one person, oops). That’s really all I would change though. This thing was delicious!

Here is Pepperidge Farm’s recipe:

1 sheet of pastry puff
1 pkg of vanilla instant pudding
1 cup of milk
1 cup of heavy cream, whipped
1/2 c. confectioners’ sugar
2 tsp. milk
1 1/2 c. strawberries (sliced)
1 oz. semi-sweet chocolate, melted

Directions:

Thaw pastry dough. Unfold sheet and cut into 3 strips along fold marks. Place on baking sheets. Bake 15 minutes or until golden. Remove from baking sheets and cool on wire racks.

Prepare pudding mix according to package directions with 1 cup milk in large bowl. Fold in Whipped Cream. Cover and refrigerate. Stir confectionsr’s sugar and 2 tsp. milk in small bowl.

Split each pastry into 2 layers, forming a total of 6 layers. Spread confectioners’ sugar mixture on 2 top layers.

Spread 3/4 cup pudding mixture on 1 pastry layer. Top with about 1/3 cup strawberries. Repeat layers. Top with iced pastry layer. Repeat to make a second dessert. Drizzle with melted chocolate. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

