Toasted Butternut Squash Seeds

February 6, 2011

My son (who turns one-year-old next week!) loves butternut squash. Today, as I was scooping the goop and seeds out, preparing the squash, I was reminded of hollowing pumpkins at halloween time. It got me thinking, can you bake the seeds of any squash, like those of a pumpkin? It turns out you can. At least you can for the butternut squash seeds.

After a quick Bing search I found several recipes for baked or toasted butternut squash seeds. One in particular caught my attention. It was for Rosemary Salt and Peper Roasted Butternut Squash Seeds. The recipe was simple.

1. Wash Seeds

2. Dry them off
3. Coat them in oil of choice (I used olive oil)
4. Sprinkle with Salt, Pepper, and Rosemary

5. Spread on baking sheet, lined with foil.


6. Bake for 10-15 minutes at 300 degrees. (My oven was much hotter [400 degrees] because I was roasting the squash)

This is a great alternative to tossing out the seeds every time I bake squash. They are salty and crunchy. Overall, a nice and easy snack to keep in the house. Beats potato chips!

Leave a Reply

