Veal Piccata

July 1, 2011

Last night I made veal. I’ve got to say, as far as meats go, veal is not my favorite. It’s not that I wouldn’t eat it; I do. And, it’s not that I wouldn’t order it at a restaurant; I do. My preference just goes more toward a nice juicy filet mignon. Nonetheless, my husband likes veal, so veal it is (can’t have chicken and steak every night, right?).

One of my favorite dishes to make is Chicken Piccata. Ina Garten (The Barefoot Contessa) has a fantastic recipe for it. Substituting in veal was a very good choice indeed. My only regret is that I didn’t pound the veal before cooking it. Live and learn.

For this dish, I used Tyler Florence’s recipe for “The Ultimate Veal Piccata“. It was easy enough. I still like Ina’s recipe better. But maybe that is because I idolize her and love all of her recipes. I don’t know.

All-in-all, Tyler’s recipe turned out quite well too. You could most definitely get by using less than four eggs for the egg wash, especially if you are only cooking two veal steaks. Also, I would recommend pounding the steak so it is about half of the thickness. Veal tastes better that way because the meat becomes softer. Other than that, the recipe is good, as is, so I will post it directly from The Food Network for you (mind you, the recipe is for 4).

Salute!

Ingredients

  • 1 pound spaghetti, store-bought
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 4 (8-ounce) veal cutlets
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • lemon, juiced
  • 2 tablespoons capers, washed and drained
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • Grated parmesan, for garnish

Directions

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Add spaghetti and cook until al denteDrainand set aside in a large bowl

Set a large saute pan over medium heat and add 2 tablespoons of olive oil. In a shallow bowl combine the flour and salt and pepper, to taste. Lightly coat cutlets in the flour. Beat eggs in a bowl with 1 tablespoon of water and season with salt and pepper. Dip cutlets in egg wash and then place straight into the hot pan. Cook the veal about 2 minutes per side until golden brown. Set veal cutlets aside on a plate. Deglaze pan with white wine and reduce by half. Add lemon juice, capers, and half the parsley, then add 2 tablespoons butter as you whisk to thicken up the sauce. Taste and season with salt and pepper, if needed..

Toss the pasta with the remaining butter and season with salt and grated Parmesan, to taste.

Serve the pasta on plates topped with the veal. Drizzle with caper sauce and garnish with the remaining parsley.

Leave a Reply

