Toddler Food

July 12, 2011

Ordinarily I stray from talking about baby food because it seems to be a touchy subject, but I was asked to share some recipes I use to feed my son. So, here it goes. When he was first introduced to solid food at 6-months, I was all into the whole “make your own baby food” craze. What I mean by that is that I did it once or twice. I soon discovered that if I would just mash whatever vegetable we were eating for that meal that he would eat that just fine. So, I never really bought into the whole Gerber generation B.S. Sorry, Gerber, I’m sure you’re swell and all, I just don’t want to waste my money on you. (I did keep a couple of jars of baby food in the diaper bag in case we were eating out and he couldn’t eat what we were eating though.)

So my toddler, to this day, eats what I eat. That being said, I think it is only fair to state that I eat like a toddler more often than I am willing to admit. Not because I am eating his food, but because among my favorite foods you will find buttered noodles, grilled cheese, peanut butter and jelly, mac and cheese, and pizza. What can I say? I’m a big kid.

For today’s lunch, I made little pizzas from some “thin sandwiches” I have leftover from burgers the other night. I tried this out a couple of days ago and noticed that some changes had to be made. They came out rather tasteless. This time added some flavor. They are simple, tasty, and calm that naughty craving for pizza I get so often.

For the crust I used “Thin Sandwiches” as previously stated, but feel free to be creative. Bagels and English Muffins work well too.

Uncooked Pizza

Cover your “crust” in tomato paste. Add a little salt and (for flavor) add some crushed red pepper and garlic powder. Top with whatever toppings you like. I used turkey pepperoni and mozzarella cheese. Bake it in the oven (400 Degrees) until the cheese has melted and browned a little (5 minutes). Then, enjoy.

Finished Pizza

Leave a Reply

