Stubborn Stains

July 26, 2011

When we moved into our house, we inherited a certain collection of stubborn stains. Two of my greatest challenges have been our cooktop and toilets. Now, mind you, I am no professional cleaner. I am hardly an amateur. Growing up, we always had someone else do the heavy cleaning in our house. I’m really good at what I like to call “fake it till you make it” or (otherwise known as) “oh, crap, we have guests coming over in an hour and the house looks like a tornado just ran through it” cleaning. It is nothing new, I’ve been doing that since I was a child when I had to “clean” my room. Good thing they never checked the closet or under the bed. (Or, if they did, they didn’t care about what was hidden.)

As my husband so kindly pointed out to me early in our marital relationship… that’s not really cleaning. I’ve gotten better. I still stash away piles right before guests come over, but there are fewer and fewer piles around. Perhaps some day I will eliminate them altogether. (Wishful thinking?)

Back to my inherited stains though. Our cooktop came with nice burnt on grease stains and our toilets with hard water drips and rings.

Toilets

We’ve been living in our house since January, so for seven months I’ve been working with these stains. The toilets have been the worst. I don’t know about you, but when I go to use a toilet and see a brown ring staring back at me, I kind of want to vomit.

EarthStone Bathstone

So scrubbing these stains has not been fun, to say the least. I have tried just about every toilet bowl cleaner out there. I tried different kinds of toilet brushes. Nothing seemed to work. Until today, that is.

That is when I came across EarthStone Bathstone. In less than 15 minutes my nightmare stains were gone from all of my toilets. That is a good feeling. Yes, I had to stick my hand in the toilet (something I had been avoiding for quite some time), but after seven months of wand cleaning, I gave in. I’m glad I did, this thing took those stains quickly away. Had I known, I would have stuck my hand (with gloves, of course) in there long ago.

Cooktop

While I have been working on getting those toilets clean for seven months, I’ve kind of ignored the cooktop. The stains bothered me, but I just wipe it down normally and hadn’t really tried scrubbing them off until yesterday. But boy did I try. I tried heavy chemicals. I tried baking soda and vinegar. I tried scrapping away the stains with a plastic scrapper. Today, I was at the store and I came across a product called Easy-Off Cooktop Cleaner. I thought, “how perfect?! I need a clean cooktop, and I like easy.” It claims to be “Unbeatable on Tough Grease,” but as it turns out, the tough grease I have is unbeatable. This product did nothing for me. It didn’t even put a dent in that stain. I’m still on a search for a solution. If anyone out there has it, let me know.

Until then, I will have to deal with it like I have been for months now. It’s not the end of the world, but it would be nice to be rid of the stains forever. Too bad you can’t shove grease stains into a closet and pretend they don’t exist.

2 Responses to “Stubborn Stains”

  1. AJ Says:

    What is your cooktop surface made of? My favorite cleaner of all time is Bar Keeper’s Friend, check it out!
    http://www.barkeepersfriend.com/cooktops


Leave a Reply

