You are What You Eat

July 27, 2011

Not my nocho

These aren't my nachos. I ate them all before I could get a picture.

I once heard Dr. Oz say that it doesn’t matter what you eat, as long as you are making it (from scratch) yourself. His reasoning is that the unhealthy things we so love are not the easiest to make, therefore, you will make them less often and eat them less often.

Today I had a craving for Nachos (after reading this Blog where the author says she likes nachos… yah, that’s all it takes for me folks, what can I say… I’m easily persuaded). Due to a lack of self-control on my part, we don’t keep junk food in the house. We did, however have some small tortillas shells, ground beef, and shredded cheese.

At the advice of Dr. Oz, I decided to make my own nacho chips. I cut the tortillas into cute little chip shapes and fried them up, browned the chopped meat, and put them all together in a glorious nacho stack.

After devouring my salty, crunchy, pile of messy chips I must say I don’t like Dr. Oz. Who does he think he is telling me I can eat whatever I want? My stomach sorely disagrees. It isn’t used to anything deep fried and it doesn’t like me much right now. But then again… that was probably Dr. Oz’s evil plan to begin with.

7 Responses to “You are What You Eat”

  1. AJ Says:

    Hahaha, I kinda see his logic but yeah, fried food is still going to cause war in your insides no matter if you made it or not! I got a coupon for my birthday from Moe’s for a free entree and I’ve been contemplating nachos all week. You may have just pushed me over the edge with this post and if I read the blog you linked to I may end up sending P to Moe’s tonight! We shall see…

  2. Anna Kudak Says:

    Thought of you when I saw this: http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2011/02/homemade-nutella-recipe-chocolate-hazelnut-spread/

    I might make it and pretend it’s healthy because I’m making it myself :) Love that logic, Dr. O!

  3. AJ Says:

    I did it….they were yummo and I did not regret it. hehe


  4. Yeah! i totally agree that healthy things you makes one healthy and vise versa.


Leave a Reply

