Butternut Squash Ravioli

November 19, 2011

One of my favorite flavors for fall is butternut squash. I’ve been in the mood for ravioli, so that is what we had for dinner tonight; butternut squash ravioli. It was so good we ate it all up and I thought I’d share the recipes. It’s not hard to make (in fact, it is easy), just a little time consuming.

First thing’s first, I had to roast the squash. For this, I used a Robin Miller recipe from Food Network. Though, I must note that the recipe says to roast the squash for 25 minutes at 400 degrees, but it took my oven much longer. Just roast it until the squash is soft and able to be mashed easily. If you want to try to do something with the seeds you can try them toasted. It’s yummy!

Roasted Butternut Squash

The Filling:

For the filling I used the Williams-Sonoma recipe. It was easy and tasty. Check out the recipe, but you basically just add an egg, cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove.

Ravioli Filling

The Pasta:

I found a very easy pasta recipe at allrecipes.com. Fresh pasta is so easy to make, I don’t know why I don’t do it more often. My only regret from this meal is that I didn’t use the pasta machine. I was being lazy and didn’t want to get it out of the cupboard. As it turns out, I created more work for myself because hand rolling pasta to the correct thinness isn’t easy.

If you’ve never made fresh pasta, you just mix flour and salt, then work in the egg, adding a little water if needed.

Making Pasta

After mixing the flour with the egg, I was afraid there wasn’t going to be enough moisture, but it all worked out. That was 2 cups of flour, 1 tsp of salt, and 2 eggs and 1/4 cup of water.

Pasta Dough

Shaping it into raviolis:

Once the dough was rolled out, it was easy to form into the raviolis.

Pasta Squares   Forming Ravioli   Ravioli

The sauce:

The sauce was the easiest part of this dinner. I used Emeril’s Food Network recipe, but it it’s just butter, sage, and I added some brown sugar and salt.

Butternut Squash Ravioli

One Response to “Butternut Squash Ravioli”


Leave a Reply

