My Winter Skin Cure

January 9, 2012

Has winter got you feeling dry, cracked, and sneezy? Me too. It’s no fun.

Your hands burn from dryness and your poor cracked skin catches on every blanket you wrap around your chilled body.

A few weeks ago I had a cold. For me, the worst part of a cold is blowing my nose so much it turns red and starts to peel. This time, I found a secret weapon: Lanolin.

Lanolin, which is a thick oil produced by sheep to protect their wool, is no secret to anyone who has breastfed a baby. It is commonly used to “soothe, heal, and protect dry, cracked skin” and is marketed to nursing mothers for fairly obvious reasons.

When my cold set in, I dreaded my impending transformation into Rudolf the Red Nosed Reindeer. Determined to avoid it, every time my nose started to burn from obsessive tissue usage, I would dab a little Lanolin on it, and the redness would fade almost instantaneously.Lanolin

So, a couple nights ago when my hands were suffering from the winter dryness, I decided to give it a go. It worked!I can’t believe I’ve had this little tube of wonderment in my house for the past two years and I never thought about using it for other areas that may be dry and cracked. I’ll never use anything else.

Now that I know the secret, I wanted to share it with you. I hope it works for you. A word of warning if you use it on your nose; it smells a little funny when it is that close to your nasal passages.

The best part is it is all natural with no strange chemicals.

*This should be quite obvious, but I feel I should disclaim; I am not a health or medical expert. I am only stating what has worked for me.

Leave a Reply

