Made with Love

January 10, 2012

I am a person of many hobbies. When I find something I am interested in and enjoy doing, I consider it a hobby. Therefore, I am a hobby photographer. I am learning with every click of the camera and I am enjoying my journey.

In effort to improve my skills, I came across a blog of a real photographer. She has amazing tutorials on how to fix common photo problems. She is encouraging her readers to work on the skills she teaches by challenging them to partake in what she calls “Project 52“: one photo per week for one year.

I like this idea. I want to improve my photography skills, but don’t want to commit to too much. One photo a week? I think I can handle that. Even though I missed the first week of the game, I am joining in.

Every week of the challenge has a different theme. This week’s theme is “Made with Love.”

It wasn’t hard for me to think about what I wanted to shoot. There has been something I wanted to photograph for some time now, but wasn’t sure how I was going to get a shot that I liked.

As I have mentioned before, I nurse my son. As his second birthday comes closer, I know the end of that relationship is very near and I am ready for it. He will be two next month. I haven’t decided (or figured out?) how I am going to wean him, but before I do, I knew I wanted to remember the feeling and experience with a beautiful, yet modest photograph. I’ve been planning this photo for some time in my head.

There is only so much planning you can do. Eventually, you just need to do it. Today was that day. Before his nap, I set up the tripod, positioned it right where I wanted it, set the timer and took the shots.

These are the results. My first Project 52 submission. A memory made with love.

22 Responses to “Made with Love”

  1. lisa Says:

    beautiful.

  2. roxana Says:

    They are beautiful pictures!!!
    I love your idea, Project 52; i nurse my son too and you’ve just inspired me to take a few modest portraits (I like how you’ve called them modest) of him nursing. (I’ve seen the post on bcc)

  3. N Says:

    Beautiful; it really brought a tear to my eye & made me realize that I want a picture too!

  4. Faith Says:

    This is a beautiful photo. I want to take one too, but with my large breasts I’m worried it won’t be as modest as this. I bought an album made for a picture a day for 2012, but I keep forgetting. A week is more realistic. Good luck and keep your beautiful photo up!

  5. Emms Says:

    Absolutely beautiful! This is a great idea, I think I will copy your idea. I too, am now inspired. Thank you for sharing a beautiful moment in a beautiful relationship!!

  6. AJ Says:

    Love Love Love!!!!!! You are a beautiful person :-)

  7. cekeachie Says:

    GORGEOUS!!! I love the picture… i’m going to have to take one myself, while my daughter is still so tiny… then another when she is bigger, to see the difference!

  8. LF Says:

    Beautiful! I’m nursing a 2 year old and haven’t taken a photo or had one taking while nursing since he was under a year. I need to do this, as like you, I don’t know how much longer we’re going to be sharing our nursing time.

  9. Melissa Says:

    Wonderful! Keep it up.

  10. Amy Says:

    How precious!

  11. Melissa Says:

    I love these!

  12. Suzi Says:

    Such special moments. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Susan Says:

    How sweet indeed!!

  14. Ruth Says:

    Love, love, love :)

  15. Briggitt Says:

    really beautiful photos : you’re so sweet, Mum and boy ;)


  16. Breastfeeding pictures seriously bring tears to my eyes. Maybe it’s because I’ve nursed four babies, and I know how quickly time passes. The second one of him playing with your necklace. Ohhhhhh my goodness. So so precious.

  17. Pam Says:

    Emily,
    How tender…memories you’ll never forget…a tie you will always share! Thanks for sharing!

  18. Donna Says:

    This is so beautiful. I remember how it felt to nurse my boys. It is such a special time. Great idea to document it with modest photos. You can see the love that is shared. Blessings.


  19. […] I mentioned before, I am participating in a photography challenge hosted by Darcy at My3Boybarians.com.  The […]


  20. […] Made with Love 2. I had a Dream (Missed this week due to power outage) 3. Self-Portrait 4. Shadows Advertisement […]

  21. hslagle Says:

    So precious! I am nursing my 19 month old now, and the thought of that special relationship coming to a close is sooo sad! What a way to remember that special time!

  22. nina Says:

    I love it! Your pics brought tears to my eyes. I still nurse my 14 month old, and need to do this for myself. Thanks for the beautiful idea


Leave a Reply

