Nightly Routines and Angry Birds

January 14, 2012

Lately, my son has been requesting that I sing three very specific songs to him before he goes to bed: 1) Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star, 2) Mary had a Little Lamb, and 3) Hush Little Baby.

We follow our usual bedtime routine, but all of the sudden, about a week ago, he started asking me to sing to him after he is tucked in. He always asks for the songs, individually, in that order.

After stories, brushing teeth, and potty, I tuck him in and he will look at me and say “Twinkle Twinkle”.  I sing it to him and say “Good night.”

“Mary Yittle Yam” he demands. I sing it. He shuts his eyes. After the song is over, I kiss him and say “Good Night” again.

“Angry Birds” he says, 3/4 of the way asleep. I know he means “Hush Little Baby,” so I sing it.

Night after night, it is the same thing and I admit, I love it.

Tonight, he wakes up at midnight. I changed his diaper and got him back in bed, all tucked in, and he starts the routine all over. “Twinkle Twinkle,” “Mary Yittle Yam,” and “Angry Birds.”

Near the end of “Angry Birds” he was fully asleep, but I can’t just stop in the middle of a song, so I finish it up. I sing the last line “Mama’s gonna buy you a mocking…” and he whisper-sings, in his sleep, “biiiird.”

It was the cutest thing EVER. I wish I had it on video.

3 Responses to “Nightly Routines and Angry Birds”

  1. Mom Says:

    What a great story!! I miss my little Louie…. Memories like these make motherhood the best of all professions. Enjoy your precious moments.

  2. AJ Says:

    I’m sorry I have to leave now because my heart is melted and I can no longer function… ;) SO ADORABLE!!!!!


Leave a Reply

