A Self-Portrait

January 27, 2012

As I mentioned before, I am participating in a photography challenge hosted by Darcy at My3Boybarians.com.  The challenge is to take a photo every week for one year: Project 52. Each week has a different theme. This week, the theme is a self-portrait. It turns out I’m not very good with the timer setting on my camera. I had a lot of difficulty getting the right settings for the lighting and the photos ended coming out kind of grainy looking.

Here are my best efforts.

I tried to capture myself in my most “natural habitat”. This is what I look like, in my home, on any given day.

I have a lot to learn about shooting on a tripod with a timer. I should probably keep reading, experimenting, and learning so my photos can come out a little better for next week’s challenge.

Previous Project 52 submissions:
1. Made with Love
2. I Dreamed a Dream– Note: I missed this challenge because we were without power (for 3 flipping days, I might add).
3. Self-Portrait

6 Responses to “A Self-Portrait”

  1. greatscott3 Says:

    Cute photos. I know – the timer is so tricky. I do a self-portrait a week for my blog’s facebook page and find that the thing that is hardest for me is the focus. Even if I set the focus (and lock it) it’s still off. Arg! Good luck to you with your practicing and see you next week!

    • EmilyM Says:

      Thanks for stopping by Sarah, I took a look at your blog and I like it. It seems to me you’ve got the timer/focus down! You have lovely photos.

  2. Donna Says:

    Great job. I see you have a puppy and a kindle. My kindle is always with me. I love it.

  3. formerteach Says:

    Love the pictures! And the blanket… but mostly YOU!

    Mom

  4. Susan Says:

    This challenge also taught me that I need to learn more about shooting photos with my tripod. I only posted one photo, but had several just like you, all around my house! :)


  5. […] Made with Love 2. I had a Dream (Missed this week due to power outage) 3. Self-Portrait 4. Shadows Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]


Leave a Reply

