Master Bedroom Makeover- Part 1

February 8, 2012

Today, I embarked on my House Beautifying resolution. First project is our master bedroom, a project which will take several days to complete. My first step was to patch up the holes and cracks in the wall.

While doing this, I was quickly reminded how horribly wrong DIY projects can go. Taking a closer look at our walls, I saw several poorly patched areas where the previous homeowner must have done a quick patch job. Since I’ve never had to repatch areas, I have to look up how to fix this. My guess is I’m going to have to sand it down and retexture the wall. I’m not really looking forward to that.

If you recall from my Resolution Post, this photo is the inspiration for my master bedroom.

Just to give you an idea of how much work I have to do, this is what I’m actually working with.

Like I said, I have a lot of work to do. I look forward to seeing the transformation. For now, all cracks and nail holes are patched and ready to go. Tomorrow, I paint the ceiling! (The exclamation mark does not mean I enjoy painting ceilings. I, in fact, hate doing that. I’m just excited to actually get this project started.)

2 Responses to “Master Bedroom Makeover- Part 1”


  1. If you decide you hate painting, my hubby is a paint contractor. :D

  2. carrie hannah Says:

    Re-texturing isn’t hard at all… Be a artist about it. Being creative makes it fun. :-) you should do the crown molding too! Should be a fun project! Better start shopping!! I wish I could do a project like that right now! Keeps me entertained!


Leave a Reply

